Wednesday, January 02, 2019

Winter League Baseball: Puerto Rico Begins Round Robin Play Minus Defending Champs

2018 ~ 2019

Liga Beisbol Profesional Roberto Clemente

Overwhelming damage and destruction wrought by the dual impact of hurricanes Irma and Maria forced Puerto Rico's professional league into playing an abbreviated 35-game regular season, with just four teams.  Los Indios de Mayguez topped the circuit with a 21-14 record.  The now former back-to-back defending champion Criollos de Caguas - who's home ballpark was deemed damaged beyond repair - tumbled into last place with a 16-20 mark, thus disqualifying them from postseason play.  The three remaining teams will now play a round robin tourney (Jan. 2-21), whereby each club faces one another other six times, with the two best records advancing to the championship series.  The new LBPRC champion will then advance to the Caribbean Series (won last year by Los Criollos de Caguas representing Puerto Rico).

Indios de Mayaguez ~ The Indians
Est. 1938 ~ 18 League Championships
First Place: 21-14
Home of the Mayaguez Indians

Gigantes de Carolina ~ The Giants
Est. 1939 ~ 14 League Championships
Second Place: 17-18
Roberto Clemente Stadium
Home of the Carolina Giants

Cangrejeros de Santurce ~ The Crabbers
Est. 2000 ~ 2 League Championships
Third Place: 17-19
Hiram Bithorn Stadium
Home of the Crabbers

est. 1938

Yldefonso Sola Morales Stadium
Former Home of Los Criollos de Caguas

LBPRC Scoreboards, Boxscores, Gameday

1/2/2019 - Mayaguez 6; Santurce 5

No comments:

Post a Comment

Say what you feel. The worse comment you can make is the one you do not make.